Ready to start a project with us? Let us know what's on your mind.

1501 Broadway STE 12060
New York, NY 10036-5601

    Select Service(s)*

    x Close

    The realm of cybersecurity has witnessed significant growth over the past few years. As cyber threats become increasingly sophisticated, the demand for professionals capable of testing and strengthening digital defenses is higher than ever. One niche area that has gained prominence is penetration testing or ethical hacking. Penetration testers are the good guys, hacking into systems to identify vulnerabilities before malicious hackers can exploit them.

    If you’re considering a career in penetration testing, the right certification can give you the required skills and credibility. Let’s examine some of the best penetration testing certifications currently available.

    1. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

    Offered by the EC-Council, the CEH is perhaps the most recognized and respected penetration testing certification in the industry. The course covers a comprehensive range of hacking techniques and tools, focusing on the latest security threats and advanced attack vectors. It provides an ethical hacking mindset, allowing you to think like a hacker to thwart potential attacks. The CEH exam consists of 125 multiple-choice questions that you need to complete in four hours.

    2. Offensive Security Certified Professional (OSCP)

    The OSCP, by Offensive Security, is a practical and very hands-on certification geared towards those who prefer a more practical approach. This certification is widely respected within the industry due to its rigorous 24-hour examination process, which requires candidates to hack into a series of machines in a controlled environment. It’s perfect for those who love a challenge and want to prove their skills in a real-world setting.

    3. GIAC Penetration Tester (GPEN)

    The GPEN, offered by Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC), focuses on the practical ability to conduct a penetration test using best practices and methodologies. The course covers detailed insights into permissions, attack strategies, potential pitfalls, and legal issues. The GPEN certification exam consists of 115 questions with a time limit of three hours.

    4. CompTIA PenTest+

    CompTIA PenTest+ is a newer certification that has quickly gained recognition. It is unique because it not only tests a candidate’s ability to penetrate systems but also includes management skills, such as vulnerability analysis, reporting, and communication. This certification is particularly useful for those who aspire to move into a leadership role in penetration testing. The PenTest+ exam comprises multiple-choice and performance-based questions over a 165-minute duration.

    5. Licensed Penetration Tester (LPT)

    The LPT is another certification provided by EC-Council. It goes a step further than CEH, providing a master-level certification. The LPT certification focuses on the practical aspect of penetration testing and is designed to challenge even the most experienced professionals. The exam is a grueling 18-hour, hands-on test that will push your skills to their limit.


    When choosing a certification, consider your career goals, experience level, and preferred learning style. Each certification has its own unique strengths and areas of focus. While some focus on theory and knowledge, others emphasize practical skills and real-world application. The certification you choose should align with your career aspirations and the skills you wish to acquire.

    Remember, earning a certification is just the first step. The field of penetration testing is dynamic and evolving, so continuous learning and hands-on experience are key to staying ahead. Happy hacking!